Using the Series

Thank you for your interest in the Honour of King’s Bible series; we appreciate your support of our company. Before you purchase there are couple of things you should know:

1. The curriculum is a six book series divided into three subject categories:

  • Getting to Know the Bible – Old Testament (ages 4 to 10)
  • Getting to Know the Bible – New Testament (ages 4 to 10)
  • Foundational Doctrines of the Bible I (ages 10 to 14)
  • Foundational Doctrines of the Bible II (ages 10 to 14)
  • How to Study the Bible I (ages 14 to 18)
  • How to Study the Bible II (ages 14 to 18)

2. Each set of two books is designed to be covered at least once during the age-appropriate years.

  • Each individual book includes 40 lessons suitable for a full school year.
  • Lessons are intended to be completed weekly; feel free to go faster or slower as needed.

3. Each lesson in Books 1 & 2 consists of:

  • The Bible text printed out so lessons can be taught without need for a copy of the Bible (encouraging your children to follow along in their own Bibles is a good idea)
  • A series of age-appropriate comprehension questions
  • A series of age-appropriate application questions
  • A selection of age-appropriate vocabulary words
  • A set of age-appropriate hands-on exercises to teach the Biblical principle learned
  • (The questions and vocabulary are just a guideline – you may use them as you see fit.)

4. Books 3-6 are structured to encourage independent study, though they can still be approached with parent and student together. Lessons are divided into multiple sub-sections and include:

  • Questions to ponder
  • Scriptures to remember
  • Multiple assignments designed to demonstrate understanding

Note: all Scripture is taken from the KJV1611 version of the Bible published in 1769. Text is altered only to replace some of the old English words with their modern equivalents. But:

  • no punctuation has been changed
  • no sentence structure has been changed
  • no phraseology has been changed
  • we have only changed words like thee, thou, wont, sitteth, walkest, etc.

Our purpose here is to make reading the Scriptures feel and sound more natural as it’s read. However, make no mistake that we are 100% committed to the King James 1611 version. If you find any words you believe should not be altered because the modern equivalent is not appropriate, let us know.

EXAMPLE: “God hath not cast away his people which he foreknew. Wot ye not what the scripture saith of Elias? how he maketh intercession to God against Israel, saying,” (Romans 11:2)

BECOMES: “God has not cast away his people which he foreknew. Know you not what the scripture says of Elias? how he makes intercession to God against Israel, saying,” (Romans 11:2)